Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Ethnographic Arms & Armour (http://www.vikingsword.com/vb/index.php)
-   Keris Warung Kopi (http://www.vikingsword.com/vb/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   Keris Jawa for Comment (http://www.vikingsword.com/vb/showthread.php?t=13458)

Raja Muda 9th March 2011 08:56 AM

Keris Jawa for Comment

1 Attachment(s)
Gentlemen,

It has been a while. I have recently acquired this keris and as I have very little experience with keris Jawa, I was wondering if our esteemed forum members could assist me with identifying the dhapur and tangguh of this keris. The hilt is somewhat unusual, made of bone with interesting carvings. I hope someone can shed light on the origins of the ukiran too. The blade came without a warangka, and I'm still considering whether to dress it in a proper Javanese warangka, or some other sheath which I can get my hands on here in Malaysia. Regards

Marcokeris 9th March 2011 02:41 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raja Muda
Gentlemen,

It has been a while. I have recently acquired this keris and as I have very little experience with keris Jawa, I was wondering if our esteemed forum members could assist me with identifying the dhapur and tangguh of this keris. The hilt is somewhat unusual, made of bone with interesting carvings. I hope someone can shed light on the origins of the ukiran too. The blade came without a warangka, and I'm still considering whether to dress it in a proper Javanese warangka, or some other sheath which I can get my hands on here in Malaysia. Regards

The ukiran would be from Madura (...or around area). Sometimes there is (around the base) a metal ring (a kind of selut).............. Your hilt seems very nice

David 9th March 2011 02:50 PM

Better, closer photos would be helpful. I'd say that the blade looks more Javanese than Madurese. Personally i think this would be best dressed in Javanese clothing. :)

Raja Muda 10th March 2011 02:21 PM

More pictures

5 Attachment(s)