Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Ethnographic Arms & Armour (http://www.vikingsword.com/vb/index.php)
-   Ethnographic Weapons (http://www.vikingsword.com/vb/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Pls translation and any opinion is welcome (http://www.vikingsword.com/vb/showthread.php?t=18730)

Martin Lubojacky 7th July 2014 07:52 AM

Pls translation and any opinion is welcome

5 Attachment(s)
The dagger is small, nevertheless the blade is really good (it looks like a very "poisonous" weapon). Mostly, such handles are associated with much bigger kama (style) daggers, but I think only because of the fact that the number of various small knives with this handles is out of collectors´own line.
Any comment is welcome and I would be happy if some of colleagues here could translate the Arabic text.
Regards,
Martin

drac2k 7th July 2014 01:46 PM

This is an interesting Jambiya with a beautiful multi-fullered blade .I am not an expert in this area( or any other come to think about it), however it appears to me that the quality of the blade is far superior to the rather spurious inscription ; you have a 19, followed by the Roman numerals CV, which stands for 105.
The handle appears to be horn and with the bosses, despite the damage is very pleasing to the eye.I would also guess that the scabbard is a later addition.
All said, it is a very nice item that I would be happy to own had I found it .

ariel 7th July 2014 11:07 PM

I do not think it is "CV": rather it is arabic 27. Will make in total 1927.
Gregorian date written with arabic numerals.

I have a whiff of something Syrian :-)

Martin Lubojacky 8th July 2014 06:55 AM

Thank you Ariel and Drac2k,
Yes. it is date - 1927. I would be very interested in what else is written on the blade. My idea is eastern part of Turkey (?), maybe south east (?)

ward 9th July 2014 01:17 AM

It's from eastern Turkey

Martin Lubojacky 9th July 2014 02:51 PM

Thank you Ward.