Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Ethnographic Arms & Armour (http://www.vikingsword.com/vb/index.php)
-   Ethnographic Weapons (http://www.vikingsword.com/vb/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   A fictional axe: is it real-world based? (http://www.vikingsword.com/vb/showthread.php?t=1137)

lordraphael 26th August 2005 08:48 PM

A fictional axe: is it real-world based?

Hello everybody from a new member.
I'm a japanese graphic novel translator (very often) in distress...

Take a look at this picture (btw, it IS a copyright infringement, but it was not me to upload this picture on the Internet):

www.gianisa.com/blade/ art/random/japset1.jpg

Please look at the second weapon counting from the bottom, the oddly shaped battle-ax... The author claims this drawing is based on a Nepalese weapon, but I couldn't find any evidence of that.
What do you think, is this weapon based on some real-world example, or is it pure fantasy?

_____
Raffaele
from Italy

Rick 26th August 2005 09:14 PM

Hi , the link is not working . :(

micas 26th August 2005 10:13 PM

Link's not working for me either.

Are you referring to the weapon held by Anotsu Kagehisa in the manga: Blade of the Immortal?

From http://www.answers.com/topic/blade-of-the-immortal

Weapons of Blade of the Immortal