Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Ethnographic Arms & Armour (http://www.vikingsword.com/vb/index.php)
-   European Armoury (http://www.vikingsword.com/vb/forumdisplay.php?f=12)
-   -   17th century (?) sword blade (http://www.vikingsword.com/vb/showthread.php?t=23576)

Marcus den toom 16th January 2018 09:46 AM

17th century (?) sword blade

9 Attachment(s)
Just recently i bought a few swords from a relatively unknown auction. This is my first time owning an item like this and my knowledge on these blades is non existend. :)
That beeing said, i hope the vast knowledge from others will point me towards a better understanding.

The blade is 74cm long measured from the point. Total length is 88,5cm. The blade balances around 23cm from where the crossguard would have been.

The blade is etched with multiple drawings and also letters which i can not decipher (could be pig Latin?).

corrado26 16th January 2018 01:06 PM

The script on one side of the blade reads "Pro Christo et Pro Patria"
corrado26

Marcus den toom 16th January 2018 01:16 PM

Hi Corrado,

Thank you, that type of text is not unussual for swords i think?

fernando 16th January 2018 03:54 PM

Maybe Pro Cristo et Patria ? :o

corrado26 16th January 2018 04:44 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Who is "Cristo"? I never saw a name like this on a blade
corrado26

corrado26 16th January 2018 04:52 PM

1 Attachment(s)
I ried to line the "Ch" in red
corrado26

Marcus den toom 16th January 2018 05:29 PM

2 Attachment(s)
The name of the maker is on the other side i think.

fernando 16th January 2018 05:49 PM

"Vincere aut mori" (win or die) on the other side ... :o .

fernando 16th January 2018 05:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by corrado26
Who is "Cristo"? I never saw a name like this on a blade
corrado26