Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Ethnographic Arms & Armour (http://www.vikingsword.com/vb/index.php)
-   Ethnographic Weapons (http://www.vikingsword.com/vb/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Unusual Hybrid Moro-Visayan Tenegre Sword? (http://www.vikingsword.com/vb/showthread.php?t=20568)

Aslan Paladin 8th October 2015 11:08 AM

Unusual Hybrid Moro-Visayan Tenegre Sword?

6 Attachment(s)
Greetings gentlemen,

I am a long-time lurker who has just recently decided to join in as a member and this is my first post. I have been collecting Islamic arms and armor since 2011 and have amassed a modest collection.

I have obtained early this year a sword which I think is a tenegre but with a silver ferrule which is usually seen in barongs. It also has an intricately detailed and unusually realistic dragon or sea monster hilt (bakunawa?) made of water buffalo horn. The over-all length of the sword is about 32 inches with a blade length of 25 inches ending in a clipped point. The spine of the blade measures 1 cm. at its thickest point. I could also see some linear lamination patterns on the blade. The blade is seated into its hilt with what appears to be brown pitch or resin. I would like to ask your opinion as to its probable age and whether it is an all original assembled sword or a sword that has had a later marriage of different parts. The attached images are from the auction site where I purchased the sword.

fernando 8th October 2015 01:59 PM

Welcome to forum Aslan :).

Ian 8th October 2015 03:01 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Hello Asian Paladin:

welcome to the Forum.

That is a very interesting and unusual sword you show. It is quite atypical in form and design of Moro or Visayan swords and I'm thinking it may be from Sumatra.