Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Ethnographic Arms & Armour (http://www.vikingsword.com/vb/index.php)
-   Ethnographic Weapons (http://www.vikingsword.com/vb/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Sword ID Indian,English, Arabian? (http://www.vikingsword.com/vb/showthread.php?t=3074)

mykeris 1st September 2006 04:53 AM

Sword ID Indian,English, Arabian?

6 Attachment(s)
I got this sword from a Malay family in Malaysia. Hopefully to get your professional opinion on what kind of sword is this. Thanks in advance.

mykeris 1st September 2006 05:03 AM

More pictures

4 Attachment(s)
More pictures. Length in scabbard 36 inches, Length of blade 32 1/2 inches, width of blade 1 1/2 inches. About one quarter on top of blade is sharp (like the Malay Tempius) while the bottom edge is very sharp.

Alam Shah 1st September 2006 05:31 AM

Piso Pedang hilt...

I'm no professional, but this is what I think. ;)
The hilt, looks like a Batak Piso Pedang hilt. Normally the blade is curved. This example have a straight blade. The scabbard is unusual but was made for the blade, Malay-styled. Other more knowledgeable forumite can fill-in... :D

ariel 1st September 2006 03:39 PM

I fully agree. Good catch. I certainly would not kick it out of my collection. I have a Piso Podang with old European straight blade: Portugese?
Is the blade plated?

katana 1st September 2006 04:16 PM

The hilt has 'similar design' elements to the Tulwar.....but less restrictive...no large disc pommel. Is there any connection?

ariel 1st September 2006 06:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by katana
The hilt has 'similar design' elements to the Tulwar.....but less restrictive...no large disc pommel. Is there any connection?

This is a direct descendant. This hilt was brought to Sumatra by the Hindus. Elgood discusses an Indian sword with the same handle.

B.I 1st September 2006 06:01 PM

nice sword.