Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Ethnographic Arms & Armour (http://www.vikingsword.com/vb/index.php)
-   Ethnographic Weapons (http://www.vikingsword.com/vb/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Caucasus Pistol circa 1800, Bird Theme (http://www.vikingsword.com/vb/showthread.php?t=23229)

Jon MB 7th October 2017 02:05 PM

Caucasus Pistol circa 1800, Bird Theme

5 Attachment(s)
Hello People,

Hope you are having a good day.

The pistol...Nice piece I picked up a while ago...sold as something different!

Inlaid bone, brass, mother of pearl....silver barrel band.

Length: 50 cm (19.6 in.)

I await your comments, I am no expert, and my books are in storage for now.

I really like items from this region though!

Jon MB 7th October 2017 06:53 PM

3 Attachment(s)
more pics

Jon MB 7th October 2017 06:58 PM

5 Attachment(s)
more

Kubur 7th October 2017 09:10 PM

I like very much your pistol!
Do you consider the possibility that your pistol might be Persian?
But I'm sure that Rick or Oliver will tell you more about it.
Best,
Kubur

Jon MB 7th October 2017 09:38 PM

Yes, could be Persian....thank you for input!

rickystl 8th October 2017 05:38 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Hi Jon.

That is a very nice pistol. At first glance, one might conclude this is a Caucasian made pistol. Caucasian made guns seem to heavily favor the use of Persian styled miquelet locks, such as this example. While undecorated, this lock appears robust and of good quality. While the fore end of the stock tapers to the muzzle in typical Caucasian fashion, the grip area of the butt is more like European styling, some what. With the exception of occassional small brass decorations, these pistols were mostly void of any regular use of brass. Iron or silver was favored. The ivory/bone decoration (walrus ivory was common) also seemed to follow Persian styling. Speaking of brass, that's interesting the use of a brass stud on the barrel band itself for use as a rudimentary front sight.