Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Ethnographic Arms & Armour (http://www.vikingsword.com/vb/index.php)
-   Keris Warung Kopi (http://www.vikingsword.com/vb/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   Keris Madura with Thai influences (http://www.vikingsword.com/vb/showthread.php?t=20080)

maxbliss888 10th June 2015 05:26 AM

Keris Madura with Thai influences

1 Attachment(s)
I am new to Keris and this hobby is very interesting and addictive as there are so much to learn.

I have come across an interesting Keris in Thailand with a Madura hilt/ Hulu but style Thai for the blade and the shield.

Any comment?

kai 10th June 2015 08:46 AM

Hello Max,

Welcome to the forum!

Quote:

I have come across an interesting Keris in Thailand with a Madura hilt/ Hulu but style Thai for the blade and the shield.
Close-ups of the blade would be good. From this pic I'd guess this blade to hail from Madura, too.

Just one more comment: While collected in Thailand, there doesn't seem to have ever been any kind of keris culture among the ethnic Thai. Granted, quite a few keris are on display in the Bangkok palaces and occasionally one might have been worn at court but apparently more as a curio item (most were likely diplomatic gifts or war booties).

Thus, I'd avoid to refer to a keris as being "Thai" (as in "style Thai" or "Thai influences"). If anything, these keris are (northern) Malay, ethnically. Keris from southern Thailand seems like a reasonable/neutral description; however, Pattani/etc. would be much more informative IMVHO. We all know that modern state boundaries usually are a result of accumulated historic "accidents" - OTOH we're discussing cultural artefacts here and, thus, focusing on the originating culture does help. Sorry for the rant... ;)

Regards,
Kai

maxbliss888 10th June 2015 09:04 AM

Keris from Southern Thai

Hi!

Thanks for the clarification.