Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Ethnographic Arms & Armour (http://www.vikingsword.com/vb/index.php)
-   Ethnographic Weapons (http://www.vikingsword.com/vb/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Swords of Jolo, Sulu 2 (http://www.vikingsword.com/vb/showthread.php?t=2384)

samhall 14th May 2006 11:18 AM

Swords of Jolo, Sulu 2

7 Attachment(s)
Hello, this is my first posting and I was directed your way by Dan Wilke. We work together on the island of Jolo, right outside of Jolo City. I am very new to this so I am looking to learn as much as possible. The attatched images are of a blade I bought here but we think it is actually from Maguindanao or Maranao. I am trying to figure out the history, age, and workmanship of this blade. Any and all information would be wonderful. As I spend more time here I will try to contribute to this forum.

Ian 14th May 2006 01:39 PM

Hi samhall and welcome to the Forum.

That is a very fine kris that you show, and the blade has cleaned up nicely.

While the blade is broader than many Tausug kris, I think this is actually a kris from the Sulu island chain. For starters, the "elephant trunk" area of the gangya is consistent with a Sulu form. Second, it has two baca baca, which is uncommon on many Mindanao kris that usually have only one. Third, the handle is a Sulu form and it has features suggesting the mid-20th C. And lastly, the scabbard is Sulu in style.

All that said, it could still be a Mindanao blade redressed in the Sulu style. I would go with whatever the locals think it is -- they should know.

Just a couple more comments. The blade appears to be older than the hilt judging from the silver inlay and the amount of loss of that inlay. Even though the hilt was redone in the mid-20th C. I really like the horse hoof pommel and that piece of wood looks like it is older. Perhaps the hilt was partly reworked and left some of the original wood intact.

I like this kris a lot. You got a very nice example IMO.

Ian.

samhall 14th May 2006 02:52 PM