Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Ethnographic Arms & Armour (http://www.vikingsword.com/vb/index.php)
-   European Armoury (http://www.vikingsword.com/vb/forumdisplay.php?f=12)
-   -   another sword for id (http://www.vikingsword.com/vb/showthread.php?t=17024)

bathala 27th March 2013 03:38 PM

another sword for id

4 Attachment(s)
heres another sword that had my friend aske ofr identification an comment as usual i this this is the forum for this one. im thingking german? bastard sword? the maker mark i really have no idea. any comments ideas anyone?

machinist 28th March 2013 03:01 PM

Hello Bathala, I have little experience with European swords but this looks like it may have been made in a machine shop by an artistically minded craftsman rather than by a traditional swordsmith.
There are just so many neat, parallel lines and surfaces in its construction and the fullers especially look like they were done on a milling machine. I think if you measured the the thickness of the blade and the width of the fullers and their distance from each other you may see little difference in different parts of the blade. This is just my impression of it though.

fernando 28th March 2013 05:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by machinist
...There are just so many neat, parallel lines and surfaces in its construction and the fullers especially look like they were done on a milling machine...

Agreed :shrug:

thinreadline 28th March 2013 06:23 PM

Absolutely .... plus the inscription is very crude indeed with the markings looking almost Oriental or some strange otherwordly script .. Klingon or Elvish perhaps ? Perhaps made for a LARP enthusiast .

kronckew 29th March 2013 09:04 AM

it looks like an attempt to emulate a katzbalger type sword.

A Senefelder 29th March 2013 02:03 PM