Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Ethnographic Arms & Armour (http://www.vikingsword.com/vb/index.php)
-   Ethnographic Weapons (http://www.vikingsword.com/vb/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Aceh Swords (http://www.vikingsword.com/vb/showthread.php?t=1444)

RhysMichael 5th November 2005 06:44 PM

Aceh Swords

Here is a link to a small project I am working on about peudeueng from Aceh. With the aid of those listed and many others, I feel it is now ready to recieve some public comments. Realize it is a work in progress. I have several more books on the way that I hope will have more information on these. Much of what you see here is a compilation of information garnered from all of you here. So even to those not mentioned by name my thanks. Paul Hansen has graciously agreed to translate some dutch sources for me when I have them.

It can be found here.
http://home.comcast.net/~jtcrosby/Aceh.html

As I said critical review is encouraged and welcomed. I am a firefighter who's last academic work was 3 decades ago in college.
Thanks

Rich 5th November 2005 06:48 PM

John -

Nice article. I'm going to put a link to it on my
swords of the world links page. Good job.

Rich S

Bill 5th November 2005 07:06 PM

Great job, Thanks

Rick 5th November 2005 07:16 PM

Nice work John !
I ordered a copy of Blanke Wapens ; looks like a good resource .
Thank you !

Ferguson 6th November 2005 11:12 AM

Excellent work. I own what I had previously called a Sikkim Panjang. It's so good to know more about the Sumatran weapons.

One problem I have, is that all my information comes from the internet. So never hearing the names spoken, probably has me pronouncing them incorrectly. Can you please tell me how to pronounce "peudeueng" in english?

Thanks for your good work.

Steve

RhysMichael 6th November 2005 09:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ferguson
Excellent work. I own what I had previously called a Sikkim Panjang. It's so good to know more about the Sumatran weapons.